48950013.JPG

 

writer, youtuber, and podcaster based in new york city.

i love reading, writing, travel, blurry photos, and anything that makes me feel something.

 

5 books for your fall reading list!

5 books for your fall reading list!

Fall is quickly approaching and i'm lining up some books i want to read this season. i thought i'd share that list with you in case you're in need of a new book! Typically a fall reading list includes thrillers and such, but i'm not one for scary stories. While there is one book on this list that is exactly that, the rest of them are just great books i've had on my list for awhile that i want to check off. And for those who may not want to read, scroll down to the bottom of the page to watch the video!

fall reading-1.jpg

1. The Red Notebook by Antoine Laurain

i picked up The Red Notebook at a local bookstore in Kansas City a few years ago because the cover is the most adorable thing i've ever seen. i am obsessed with anything French, and this book is set in France, written by a French author and translated into English. it's a story about a man named Laurent who works as a bookseller. One day he finds a purse discarded in a public trashcan. There is no I.D. in the purse, but there's a red notebook. And while Laurent is trying to track down who the purse belongs to, he reads this red notebook and ends up falling in love with this stranger. Which makes it more imperative to find out who she is. The bookseller at the Kansas City bookstore couldn't give this book enough praise and i can't wait to read it!

Pick it up here: The Red Notebook

fall reading-2.jpg

2. On The Road by Jack Kerouac

Jack Kerouac wrote On The Road in three weeks. There were no paragraphs and no chapters. Just a continuous reel of mad and furious writing. On The Road was originally published in 1957, this edition is the original scroll, with the real names of his friends instead of the character names from the original publishing. The book follows Jack and his friends as they road trip across America in the 40s. i am about halfway through this one and i'm loving it! i've always been fascinated with the beat generation and the literary heroes from that time. And there's no denying that Jack Kerouac changed the scene.

Pick it up here: On The Road

fall reading-3.jpg

3. A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

The Shades of Magic is a trilogy about four magical Londons that are connected but only certain magicians, called Antari, can travel between them. The series follows an Antari named Kell. It's full of magic and adventure and wars. i have read the first two books in this series already, and it's so great! It said for fans of Harry Potter and The Night Circus, and i am a huge fan of both. i don't think there's anything better than a fantastic trilogy about magic!

Pick them up here:
A Darker Shade of Magic 
A Gathering of Shadows 
A Conjuring of Light 

fall reading-5.jpg

4. Insomniac City by Bill Hayes

i like to keep a good mix of genres in my reading list. It helps keep me from falling into a reading slump, or just a bad habit of reading the same things over and over again. So Insomniac City is a memoir. Bill Hayes moved from San Francisco to New York City and ended up living next to Oliver Sacks. This book is about his relationship with Oliver, as well as a sort of love letter to New York. i read the first chapter and it was absolutely beautiful, so i can't wait to dive into this one!

You can pick it up here: Insomniac City

fall reading-6.jpg
fall reading-7.jpg

5. House of Leaves by Mark Danielewski

As promised, a scary story! i have to be honest though, i did not purchase this book because of its haunting story. i purchased it because, as the photo above shows, every single page of this book is quirky and intriguing and i couldn't say no to it! House of Leaves is about a young family who moves into a house and discovers it's bigger on the inside than the outside. This, of course, results in there being a growing abyss behind a closet door. But what got me about this book is how it began. It was first passed around as a bundle of paper, its audience being marginalized youth - musicians, tattoo artists, etc. Eventually the older generation got ahold of it and found not only themselves in the novel, but a way of connecting again with their children. If that doesn't make you at least curious about this book, i don't know what will! :)  

Pick it up here: House of Leaves

Those are the five books i want to read this fall! i hope something stuck out to you. i'd also love for you to leave a comment and let me know what you'll be reading! 

you still have time

you still have time